China Travelogue  |  China City Guides  |  Beijing City  |  Hong Kong   |  Shanghai  |  Xian  |  China History  |  Home    
Anhui Province  •  Beijing  •  Fujian   •  Gansu   •  Guangdong   •  Guangxi   •  Guizhou   •  Hainan   •  Hongkong   •  Jiangsu  
Shanghai   •  Sichuan   •  Taiwan   •   Xian   •  Yangtze River  

Anhui Province, China
  › Hefei City Guide
     › Baogong Memorial Hall
  › Huangshan Mountain - 1
  › Huangshan Mountain - 2
  › Jiuhua Mountain
  › Hongcun Village & Xidi Village
  › Visiting Huangshan China

Fujian Province, China
  › Fujian Tea
  › Fuzhou City Guide - 1
  › Fuzhou City Guide - 2

  › Quanzhou City
  › Wuyi Shan Mountain
  › Xiamen City Guide
     › Gulangyu Island

Gansu Province, China
  › Dunhuang China
  › Jiayuguan & Jiayuguan Pass
  › Lanzhou City Guide
  › Xiahe & Labrang Monastery
  › Zhangeye & Wuwei Travel

Guangdong Province
  › Guangzhou City Guide
     › Six Banyan Tree Temple
    > Sun Yat-sen Memorial Hall
  › Guangzhou Chimelong Water Park
  › Guangzhou Xiangjiang Safari Park
  › Shenzhen City Guide

Guangxi Province
  › Guilin City Guide
  › Guilin Travel Destinations - 1
  › Guilin Travel Destinations - 2
  › Guilin Travel Destinations - 3
  › Li Jiang River Tour
  › Nanning City Guide
  › Yangshuo City Guide

  › Yangshuo Travel Destinations

Guizhou Province - 1
Guizhou Province - 2
  › Anshu City Guide
  › Huangguoshu Tour
  › Guiyang City Guide
  › Guiyang Tourist Attractions

SiChuan Province
SiChuan Cuisine & Food
SiChuan Mah Jong
  › Chengdu China City Guide
     › Du Fu Thatched Village
  › Chengdu Shopping
  › ChongQing China City Guide
  › Emei Shan
  › JiuZhaiGou Tour
  › Leshan Giant Buddha
  › Neijiang China
  › Wolong Panda Reserve
  › WuLiangYe & Zigong Dinosaur

Beijing China City Guide
Beijing China History
Beijing Duck, Peking Duck
Forbidden City in Beijing
  › Forbidden Palace - Wumen Gate
  › Three Great Halls
  › Nine Dragon Wall
  › Inner Palace of Forbidden City
Great Wall of China
  › Badaling Great Wall & Mutianyu
  › Juyongguan Great Wall & Simatai

Shanghai China city Guide
Shanghai History
Jade Buddha Temple
Oriental Pearl TV Tower
Shanghai Bund & Huangpu River
Shanghai Museum

About Xian City (Xian City Guide)
Banpo Village Museum
TerraCotta Army Discovery
TerraCotta Warriors - History
Mausoleum of Qin Shi Huang
Tour of Terra Cotta Museum
Xian City Wall


Mount Wu Yi Shan

Wuyi Shan Fujian Province

Mount Wuyi (武夷山 Wu Yi Shan) is located in northern Fujian province covering an area of 60 square kilometers. The Wuyi scenic area boasts thirteen springs, thirty six peaks, and seventy two caves. One of the most famous scenery is the Nine-bend stream that extends 9 kilometers. Mount Wu Yi was listed as an UNESCO world heritage site in 1999, and it is one of the most outstanding biodiversity conservation zones of China.

A popular tour destination of Mount Wu Yi is the Wuyi Canyon where tourists are able to drift along the water to view the scenery of Wuyi mountain. The canyon is 14 kilometers long, and tourists can drift along the waters for about 6 kilometers.

wuyi shan

Mount Wuyi are once had intensive volcanic activity and water erosion, which led to the formation of its unique landscape. In the eastern area around the Nine Bend stream there is a large number of monoliths formed by natural erosion. The geography of the area keeps out the cold air from the northwest while retaining the warm air that comes in from the sea.

Wuyi Shan also has over 30 boat-coffins that belong to ancient Yue people from over 3,000 years ago. These are preserved in cliff caves on cliff sides of the streams. According to archaeologists, this is one of the main origins of boat-shaped coffin burials in China.

Wu Yi Tea

Wuyi Mountain is one of the most popular tourist attractions located in Fujian province. It is also one of the most famous tea growing regions in China, putting Fujian province on the map as a famous tea producer. The production of Fujian tea has a time-honored history. According to the written record found at the moment, it has a history lasting well over 1,600 years.

The earliest written record of tea production in Fujian is kept on a stone tablet at the Lian Hua Feng (Lotus Peak) in Nan'an County. The name of the tablet is "Lian Hua Cha Jin" (Lotus Flower Tea Book) inscribed in 376 A.D. In the Tang dynasty, tea sage Lu Yu in his book "Tea Classics" noted: Tea is grown south of the Five--Ridge Mountains, in Fuzhou, Jianzhou, Shaozhou and Xiangzhou.'

Fujian Province holds an important position in China  producing all five categories of tea including black, green tea, oolong tea, white, and scented tea. With the exception of green tea ,all the others were pioneered in Fujian province. Lapsang Souchong (black) and white tea are Fujian Province's unique specialities.The world famous Fujian Oolong tea has been introduced to some other regions. Scented tea, especially jasmine tea, benefits from the good natural environment, producing high quality flowers and suitable tea leaves. There are 336 varieties of tea trees in Fujian province, ranking first throughout China.

There is a lot of promotion selling a so called "Wu Yi Tea" for weight loss. You may or may not have seen these internet ads. While Wuyi Shan is a major tea producer of many varieties of tea, there is actually no such tea called the "Wu Yi Tea". You can read more about the so called "Wu Yi Tea Weight Loss" here.

>> Click here to discover how to get dirt cheap airfare tickets



I Heart

Try AWeber Email Marketing Risk-Free

Beijing ChinaChina Travel Hong Kong ShanghaiSichuan Xian China Travelogue Chinese Cooking Contact Privacy